Archibald Prize 2010

Main Gallery: 23 July - 22 August 2010

Archibald 2010

Archibald 2010
The Archibald Prize 2010 on display in the Main Gallery, 2010

The most famous artistic prize in Australia is back in Wagga Wagga! One of Australia's oldest and most prestigious art awards, the Art Gallery of NSW Archibald Prize presents an outstanding range of portraits of major Australian artists, featuring personalities both famous and infamous. Since its inception in 1921, the Archibald Prize has been awarded to many of the country's most renowned artists, and this year's display is no exception. Thirty-three portraits are on display, selected from over eight hundred entries, including the winning work, Sam Leach's Tim Minchin.

Each year, Australian artists are invited to submit portraits of distinguished men and women from the fields of politics, the arts and the sciences. The Archibald Prize 2010 features portraits of national luminaries such as former prime minister Malcolm Fraser, sporting identities Max Walker and Peter FitzSimons, singer Kate Ceberano, and broadcaster Glenn A. Baker. Artists including John Olsen, Tim Storrier and Danie Mellor are also up on the walls, alongside noted climatologist Professor Ross Garnaut and world leader in alternative energy research Professor Martin Green.

An Art Gallery of NSW exhibition toured by Museums and Galleries NSW.

Archibald Prize 

Winner of the Archibald Prize 2010: Sam Leach, Tim Minchin, oil and resin on wood

Global Opening

When: Thursday, 29 July 6:00 - 8:00pm

Where: Main Gallery, Wagga Wagga Art Gallery
Cost: Free


AGNSW   ANZ   Museums and Galleries NSW   Australia Council of the Arts/Australian Governmen  Communities arts NSW