Archibald Prize 2016

Saturday 3 December – Sunday 15 January | Main Gallery

  • Louise Hearman, Barry, oil on masonite, 69.5 x 100 cm
    Winner, Archibald Prize 2016 Photo: © AGNSW, Nick Kreisler

The Archibald Prize, first awarded in 1921, is Australia’s favourite art award, and one of its most prestigious. Awarded to the best portrait painting of the year, it’s a ‘Who’s Who’ of Australian contemporary culture – from politicians to fashion designers, sporting heroes to artists. For almost a century, the Archibald Prize has been thrilling art enthusiasts, often stirring up controversy, and always challenging the way we see ourselves and our society.

An Art Gallery of NSW touring exhibition